Where the (Right) Advice At?!

I’m excited by the fact that more of you are finding and reading this blog; whether it’s by accident or not I hope you stick around! Also, please feel free to leave a comment, I’d love to hear from any of you to ease the loneliness a bit. Just kidding, it’s not quite that dramatic but still please do make your voices seen/heard!

Now, back to the topic of interest: relationship advice. There are so many love and relationship advice websites/forums/what-not for all ages out there on the web. Depending on your level of interest, you can find a few interesting articles on Yahoo about how to bail out on a bad date early or take quizzes to reveal your ideal suitor. Whatever it may be, there’s something lovin’ (or at least love advice) for everyone.

Well…almost everyone. Maybe it’s because I haven’t done adequate research or something, but for some reason such advice fails to fall in the hands of the spinster. When was the last time you saw a genuinely helpful article about what a person could be missing or an enlightening piece on what guys really, and I mean REALLY look for? (the answer to that question is that there is no answer).

Just as an example, I decided to take it upon myself to google something a spinster would want to know: “How to get a boyfriend”. I hope and pray that I do not suffer from this Google search and that others will not use it against me…like they have done in murder trials where the killer is exposed by tracing their Google search history (“How to commit murder” – though honestly, why would anybody be this dumb?).

Anyway,out of my findings, these two websites provided interesting advice:
http://www.wikihow.com/Get-a-Boyfriend
http://www.hookingupsmart.com/2009/09/28/relationshipstrategies/20-reasons-you-dont-have-a-boyfriend/

Let’s talk about the Wikihow first, literally, How to Get a Boyfriend:

1) Make sure he doesn’t have a girlfriend- It’s pointless to go after someone who is already in a relationship!
No shit.

-After 15 more reasonable but not very helpful items –

17) When you do have a boyfriend, don’t cheat on him by dating other boys.
I’ll try to resist the urge.

18) If you don’t have a boyfriend at this point, go back to the top of this article and read the steps again.
NOOOO WHY?!?!

Exactly.

Now hookingupsmart.com: 20 Reasons You Don’t Have a Boyfriend

I don’t want to go over each reason, but I can honestly say that it’s so dificult not to be guilty of a few of these items, let alone any of them. Without any of these “imperfections,” does this girl even have any personality leftover? And can a guy really not handle any of these things…well maybe they’re the ones not worth dating. I better stop myself before I become several of these traits (aggressive, too picky, self-aborbed etc.).

Although, to the author’s credit, she does provide a disclaimer that it’s not likely that anybody will be able to be completely reason-free, which just goes to show how difficult it is to answer a question like “how to get a boyfriend”. I wish I knew the answer, because not only would it make my life easier, I would share it with everyone to help create some love in the world. I’m not saying that relationship advice pertaining to less spinster-y topics are neccessarily better, but for the most part they aren’t as difficult or long-term problems to solve.

That being said, if anybody out there has a valuable piece of information to share or has read something of the like, please make it known! At the very least, I will deeply appreciate such sound advice and will share it with all my spinster friends (I try not to have too many, but what can you say we unite through our pain).

One thought on “Where the (Right) Advice At?!

Leave a Reply

